top of page

7 Instant Self-Motivating Hacks

Hello Fellow Bitter to Better Blog Readers!

You can motivate by fear, and you can motivate by reward. But both those methods are only temporary. The only lasting thing is self motivation.

-Homer Rice

It’s easier said than done; SELF MOTIVATING.

As a writer, I speak from experience when I say that some days behind my desk has been a constant self-motivating task.

Sometimes I have what I call “word vomit” and the words come spilling out, which is great. Other days I draw a blank and it can become quite frustrating.

There are days where I personally do not feel like writing at all. However, how would I ever complete a project or continue to perfect my craft if I let those moments of discouragement lead me?

The fact is that motivation will not always be present. You will want to quit a lot of the time. This is when we are tested and must have some form of method in place to combat the down time, and defeat it with perseverance.

Here are some very effective hacks that always get my mind back on track and feeling motivated toward my goals in an instant:

INSTANT MOTIVATING MIND HACKS

1. Think of the people depending on you.

May it be your family, friends, or someone who looks up to you, remember that you are not only doing it for yourself and this shall help put you back in the race.

Finding a reason bigger than yourself to complete and push forward, works every single time.

If you feel you do not have a codependent to propel you, then create one. Find someone to hold you accountable.

2. Think of those that are not as fortunate.

For example, my newest aspiration is to run a marathon. It gets hard to keep up with training and my everyday routine simultaneously.

When I feel lazy or like I’m leaning in on excuses not to train, I think of something drastic like not having the ability to walk or run at all.

When you are able to appreciate that which you can do (the key is to focus on “can” not “can’t) and then think of those not fortunate enough to have the opportunity, it gives you an immense sense of purpose.

Purposely become aware of so many people in the world that do not have the abilities that you have and in many ways do it for them.

3. Keep the end result front and center at all times.

Make sure that your work area is full of motivational content that serve as reminders for momentum.

Place images of sensational quotes and positive affirmations. Find photos of the things you want and admire, or aspire to be.

For example, keep a picture of a Mercedes that you wish to one day own at your desk or of a person in great shape who has the abs you desire on your treadmill.

You surely cannot acquire those things without putting in the work. I am feeling motivated already ☺ you get the gist?

4. Don’t just plan, PREPARE

Organization is so important and can have a major impact on your motivation.

For example, I intend to work out first thing in the morning. In the beginning, I wouldn’t even when my intention was clearly to do so. I realized I wasn’t making it easy for myself.

The process of searching for my sneakers, yoga pants, resistance bands, and any other miscellaneous product that I would plan to utilize for my workout, became daunting. This resulted in me hitting the snooze button and resting for another hour instead. NOT COOL!

So, I started making a mental shift by accepting that something so simple as preparation was derailing my physical goals. Next step was to find a solution, to become prepared!

When I wake up, my sneakers are at my bedside with my yoga pants, and all other equipment is at hands reach. I get right to my work out, by preparing the night before.

By taking steps like these and preparing effectively, you leave little room for the need to feel motivated; make it inevitable to get down to business!

5. Remind yourself of someone who’s done it

One, if not the most destructive thought, and attitude to have, is one of defeat.

We are so quick to turn away from challenges; killing our own motivation and momentum because of our fear of failure. Learn about someone who’s already done it instead.

I’m not saying that you will find someone with the exact same story as yours, because we are all unique. What I am saying is that someone out there shares your fears and has lived and survived similar life experiences.

There is a world out there that can seen as scary or comforting (your choice), waiting for you to just do just a little reaching out.

I personally read success stories all the time of authors, bloggers, and the likes, who started from nothing and made it to the top.

One day, your story might help another person feel instantly motivated and strive toward their own dreams. Remind yourself of someone who’s done it!

6. Create rewards

This technique for self-motivation is my favorite by far…

I remember growing up in a household with four siblings. It wasn’t easy for my mother to keep us all in check.

The technique that worked very well as I remember it, was the threat of no gifts on Christmas morning, and threats to take away what we already had access to that we didn’t want to lose (like our Nintendo. I know that must seem ancient, but it was so cool at the time).

As soon as she mentioned either, we would all straighten up and do what was told and required of us.

In this same way, we can anticipate rewards and motivate ourselves to do what we must, like a child anticipating Christmas morning.

How?

Simply set up some rewards for yourself. For example; if you complete XYZ by Friday, then on Saturday you will have a spa day as a reward. KEY CONCEPT: ONLY IF YOU COMPLETE SAID TASK.

I do this all the time, using time with friends and family as the reward. If I don’t reach a certain word count for my latest book project by weeks end, then I won’t socialize on the weekend. Tough but effective!

Try it!

7. Last but definitely not least…..Just start !!!!

This is probably the hardest yet the most effective self-motivating technique and it requires effort on your part. Yet, all you have to do is start.

I guarantee that once you start, you will have tuned into your go-getter mindset.

It’s very rare that you will begin to carry out a task that will move you one step closer to your goal and aspirations, and not feel the urge to continue.

Just dedicate five minutes and see where it goes.

Until Next Time

Just like any other habit, in order to start on the path of it becoming a default action, we must practice and do it constantly.

Believe in yourself and break the chains of comfort, embrace change and decide wholeheartedly to become better than the circumstances that surround you.

Until my next entry I hope we all set aside time to reflect and begin to make these lists of changes. Break the chains that hold you back from reaching your highest potential. Use that which has made you feel bitter to become better. Thanks for stopping by.

Please leave your comments below. Feel free to share a time when you experienced something in your life that made you bitter but you transformed it to something better. You never know who your story might help.


bottom of page