top of page

Stop Comfort and Start Living

In order to live in the mansion of your dreams, you will have to move out of the home you’re in.

I wanted to start this entry off with this original quote that I thought up just for you, my fellow readers, because this is exactly what stepping out of your comfort zone is about.

Many people will say “NO WAY!! I wouldn’t hesitate to move into a mansion, that would be a dream come true.” But then shortly after, the human thought process starts to kick in and we begin to find excuses as to why we wouldn’t leap at the sign of opportunity.

In this particular case, it will sound something like; WHAT IF I don’t get along with anyone in that area?, WHAT IF the supermarket is like a mile away?, BUT I won’t be able to see my friends often, BUT the kids are already in school out here, BUT it’s so convenient for me here already, WHAT IF someone burglarizes my mansion?,WHAT IF???

STOP!! WHAT IF YOU JUST DID IT??

We as humans obsess about things that haven’t even happened yet, and it’s really a mechanism to stay right where we’re at. Notice that while you fret about what ifs and but but but yourself to sleep about it, OPPORTUNITIES are passing you by.

Short Story Time

Before I actually published my first Blog Post I spent a lot of time on BUTS and WHAT IFS; what if people don’t like my content? What if I run out of things to write? What if I waste all this money on hosting and not one person visits my site? What if I get cruel comments and people start judging me?...

But, is this going to make people want to read and follow me? But I’m not a psychologist, But people might feel offended, But I need to do more research, But I should make sure I reread all the content again and again (Procrastinating) etc.. (It took me three months to actually launch it)

Now that I did it, I feel such a sense of accomplishment. I’M SUCH BAD ASS!!

Nobody has to agree, but I feel great, Why? Because I’m doing something I love, and it’s pushing me to great lengths in learning about myself and others.

It’s up to us to act in the presence of inspiration, motivation and passion. Opportunities are all around us, it’s up to us to take them.

How will you ever know if you don’t try?

The “What ifs” soon become ..What if I would’ve done it when I had the chance? Where would I be today if I took that opportunity? How different would my life have been right now if I would’ve just at the very least, tried?

The “Buts” soon become.. But I could’ve been on a beach drinking mimosas right now. But I would’ve had my first published book by now, my first house, investment by now, my degree by now, my dream job…

Don’t let that be you.

A Bitter to Better Technique

  1. FOLLOW YOUR INSTINCT, what does your gut tell you? It’s more than likely correct

  2. Ask yourself what do you have to lose? Chances are this will give you a boost if you can think of the good that will come from taking that chance.

  3. Keep in mind that discomfort is temporary, it will pass and the new condition will become the norm.

  4. Focus on this saying when you’re feeling nervous or second guessing yourself;Growth requires change, change brings growth, and change is uncomfortable but necessary.

Until Next Time

Just like any other habit, in order to start on the path of it becoming a default action, we must practice and do it constantly.

I hope you find the courage to look discomfort in the eye and boldly move forward. A short feeling of discomfort is not worth missing a lifetime of opportunity and experiences.

The cold truth is that anything out of the norm will cause some level of discomfort, it’s what you do when that feeling arrives that matters.

We all go through this at one point or another, you are not alone. Take chances, live fully, and be the best you possible. Thank you for stopping by.

Please leave your opinion and comments below. Feel free to share a time when you experienced something in your life that made you bitter but you transformed it to something better.

bottom of page